The New Year by Edward Thomas

The New Year

He was the one man I met up in the woods

That stormy New Year’s morning; and at first sight,

Fifty yards off, I could not tell how much

Of the strange tripod was a man.  His body,

Bowed horizontal, was supported equally

By legs at one end, by a rake at the other:

Thus he rested, far less like a man than

His wheel-barrow in profile was like a pig.

But when I saw it was an old man bent,

At the same moment came into my mind

The games at which boys bend thus, High-Cockalorum,

Or Fly-the-garter, and Leap-frog.  At the sound

Of footsteps he began to straighten himself;

His head rolled under his cape like a tortoise’s;

He took an unlit pipe out of his mouth

Politely ere I wished him “A Happy New Year,”

And with his head cast upward sideways

Muttered –

So far as I could hear through the tree’s roar –

“Happy New Year, and may it come fastish, too,”

While I strode by and he turned to raking leaves.

Churlish of me; who am I to have a problem with line 8?   I do so wish to put  commas  , between  His wheel-barrow , in profile,  was like a pig    but I daren’t!!   Or maybe the word ‘he’  between profile and was…….    I have to continue to struggle with it…………I know it follows the ‘he’ in previous line.   I just hope it is a missing misprint.  Oh the simple trials of reading and editing!

Anyway, if anyone is really reading this:   Happy New Year!

 

 

also tagged as seasons

Author: poetryparc2

Here goes: I read poets and around poetry and any other book I take a fancy to. I seem to have a preference for seeing the changes from the Victorian period through to the 1930's, maybe 50's. But, and a big but, I also read anything right up to current poetry/performance poetry. Sometimes my ‘historic’ preference for 'imagist' and ‘Nature' unnerves me for too much too modern. However, I do like to range over poetry and fiction, any and all periods. I also like finding (if only for me) regional or partly forgotten poems and poets. Maybe all this is too eclectic to have a themed 'Blog' but so be it....... I also write fiction that might add up to a small mole-hill one day. Plus reviewing new or old books that are relevant to my enthusiasms of Crime Fiction, the Arts, Natural History and Special Education. This is on 'wordparc'. I try to record honestly what I think but if something is too bad (to my mind, others may love it!!) then I will not 'blog'. I buy or borrow to read and review. If there is a click-through it is meant to be useful though ‘wordery’ might give me a small % at no cost to you. There, what's that if not seemingly random!

Leave a Reply

