T S Eliot Prize for Poetry 2015 Shortlist Announced

Good news for  10 poets with this recent announcement but still time for you to read their work before the winner is discovered on 11th January, 2016.
This year the chair of Judges is Pascale Petit, the other judges are Kei Miller and Ahren Warner.

beauty beauty coverThe shortlist of 10 was chosen from a total of 142 books submitted.  The Poetry Book Society pointed out that short listed poets included were of international stature and indeed of international origins such as Australia, Jamaica and the US.  The 10 also contained two Scots, four previous winners and two first collections.


The shortlist:

Mark Doty: Deep Lane    (Cape Poetry)deep love cover
Tracey Herd: Not in this World    (Bloodaxe)
Selima Hill: Jutland    (Bloodaxe)
Sarah Howe: Loop of Jade    (Chatto & Windus)
Tim Liardet: The World Before Snow    (Carcanet)
Les Murray: Waiting for the Past    (Carcanet)
Sean O’Brien: The Beautiful Librarians    (Picador)
Don Pateson: 40 Sonnets    (Faber)
Rebecca Perry: Beauty/Beauty    (Bloodaxe)
Claudia Rankine: Citizen; An American Lyric    (Penguin)

The winner will be announced on Monday 11th January 2016.  The successful poet will receive a cheque for £20,000, donated by the TS Eliot Estate.  Shortlisted poets will each receive £1500.

(T S Eliot Estate increased its support for 2015 to become  the sole supporter of this prize.)

citizen cover2Claudia Rankine of Jamaica won the recent Forward Prize with Citizen and also the NBCC award in the US.

Loop of Jade and Beauty/Beauty are the ‘first collections’ and toward the other end of the  scale; Deep Lane, is the ninth collection of the well respected American poet, Mark Doty, also a previous winner of this prize.  Murray and O’Brien have also previously won the T S Eliot Prize and so too has Don Paterson (twice).loop of jade cover

The chair, Pascale Petit was fulsome with praise of all submissions saying “This is a fantastic year for poetry…….many that didnt make it are books we love.  But we were unanimous about our final list.” and of the short list…….”every book on the list is so ambitious- they’re reaching for the stars”.

‘The T S Eliot Prize Readings’.  Will take place on Sunday 10th January, 2016 at the Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, London.

Note,  I include some covers to lighten the page, I am not offering any opinion by it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s