Three Books: ‘The Parish’, by John Clare; ‘Socially Speaking’; ‘Apples’, new ed.: there’s variety!

Rising from a bed of writing-lethargy I now have these three books clamouring for attention!!   Let alone all the other ideas that are currently hiding in corners and under duvets,  with one or two sheltering under buckets in the garden.

Just about to look at the long satirical poem written by Clare (The Parish) but never published in his lifetime.   This edition seems to be taken from Clare’s own ‘fair’ copy’

The Parish.   Book published in 1985 by Viking, in paper and hard copy, edited by Eric Robinson.  (Mine is hard copy).

Also about to read a book titled:   Socially Speaking, by Alison Schroeder.  First published in 1996 and reprinted virtuall every year since.   This covers  ‘ A pragmatic social skills programme for primary pupils’.    I believe this sort of area is covered in part at least by ‘circle-time ‘ activities in Primary Schools.  Looks interesting to me, an interested layman.   I will probably write it up in my Wordparc  blog.

Hoping that I can get a bit of a move-on with writing in these sites as I have been pointing in the wrong directions recently.  Tail-up, shoulder to the wheel and nose in the ink-well; to sabotage yet more favourite cliches.

Just got in a new edition of ‘Apples‘ by Michael Clark. Will be reviewing this asap.  Must say it looks a brilliant book, hugely improved on its old edition, possibly a better book that the RHS title!   Another one for the Wordparc site.

Author: poetryparc2

Here goes: I read poets and around poetry and any other book I take a fancy to. I seem to have a preference for seeing the changes from the Victorian period through to the 1930's, maybe 50's. But, and a big but, I also read anything right up to current poetry/performance poetry. Sometimes my ‘historic’ preference for 'imagist' and ‘Nature' unnerves me for too much too modern. However, I do like to range over poetry and fiction, any and all periods. I also like finding (if only for me) regional or partly forgotten poems and poets. Maybe all this is too eclectic to have a themed 'Blog' but so be it....... I also write fiction that might add up to a small mole-hill one day. Plus reviewing new or old books that are relevant to my enthusiasms of Crime Fiction, the Arts, Natural History and Special Education. This is on 'wordparc'. I try to record honestly what I think but if something is too bad (to my mind, others may love it!!) then I will not 'blog'. I buy or borrow to read and review. If there is a click-through it is meant to be useful though ‘wordery’ might give me a small % at no cost to you. There, what's that if not seemingly random!

Leave a Reply

