Andrew Motion’s 10 tips for being a successful poet

So,  here’s an offering I could not resist linking to:

Andrew Motion ( Poet Laureate, retired)with good advice to all on a BBC arts & entertainment page, item written by Alison Feeney-Hart.  It all seems very sound to me, not that I  do much more than read and write poetry for  my own benefit, though I have to admit that I now like to pass on the enjoyment and frustration of poetry in all its forms.

Link to Andrew Motion’s ten tips:      how to write good poetry

Ten points:   No, I will not labour them here but check them out and see if you agree, and  personal additions should be tacked on for later review, and comfort.   Think about where you need to improve but be sure it is to your creative benefit.  Prefer not to play to the crowd and stick to your own direction.  Having said that in writing and reading, try variety, different, hard and push your boundaries.  You and your poetry will grow.

Which reminds me, I must re-read his: Natural Causes ((Chatto Poetry) and Love in a Life (Faber & Faber)

And if you want to dip into reading and interpreting poetry you will find it surprisingly helpful and informative  for your own work.  Try;  Terry Eagleton: How to Read a Poem (Blackwell Publishing) for a pretty clear and sensible view of the subject, a surprisingly easy (and humourous) read.

 

 

About poetryparc2

Here goes: I write a bit of poetry, sometimes about poetry I find and ditto any sort of books I take a fancy to. I seem to have a preference for seeing the changes from the late Victorian period through to the 1930's, maybe 50's. But, and a big but, could carry that right up to current poetry/performance poetry. Though sometimes my grounding for 'imagist and Nature' might unnerve me for too much too modern. However, I do like to range widely over all 'historical' poetry, and fiction, any and all periods. I also like finding (if only for me) regional or partly forgotten poems and poets. Maybe all this is too eclectic to have a themed 'Blog' but so be it....... I also enjoy writing bits of fiction that might add up to a small mole-hill one day. Plus reviewing of new or old books that are relevant to my enthusiasms of Crime fiction, the Arts, Natural History and Special Education. This is on 'wordparc'. I try to record honestly what I think but if something is too bad (to my mind, others may love it!!) then I will not 'blog' it There, what's that if not seemingly random!
This entry was posted in Current, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

