William Blake’s house for sale; help save it for the Nation

I have just found the item linked below, dated 11th September written by Alison Flood in Guardian, Culture section.   I find this part of Guardian’s output frequently interesting and stimulating also having just enough of a point of view to have me muttering  my own contrary thoughts on the subject into my beard.  Though, as I have no beard  (but often a lazy soft-stubble)  and my comments are usually ill-considered and based on limited knowledge of the subject, the quicker they disappear into the ether the better.

However, back to saving William Blake’s cottage for the Nation.   I have no hesitation in supporting this plea.   The uniqeness of William Blake as a man, poet and artist  has  fairly stood the test of time.   His work has survived and continues to offer us thought and inspiration so this is an ideal, maybe last, chance to secure another piece of the heritage of William Blake:

‘Crowdfunding campaign hopes to save William Blake’s cottage for nation’:

See latest item in the Guardian, linked to via booktrade link

The Blake Society has negotiated a reduction in the initial price but still needs to raise £520,000  by October 31st to ensure purchase of the property.  The Blake Society has its own members and  well-known literary supporters but the terribly short time allowable means a crowd-funding campaign is the most feasible way of  raising the money quickly.  This will launch on 19th September.

The cottage is in Felpham, Sussex. If (when!!) purchased it will be put into a charitable trust held in perpetuity for the benefit of the nation.

The Big Blake Project  (link) is a festival, founded by Rachel Searle which starts on 16th September.     As I type this I realise time is running out as it starts tomorrow!  You should look them up.  Events at St Mary’s Church in Felpham including talks, performances, music, poetry and art in the Old Reccory Gardens in Felpham.

I live a long way from Felpham, will not get there this year but am determined to visit because the imagination is a wonderful thing and a lot can be gained/felt by visiting such spots.   For me, my compass points are John Clare’s Cottage,  Gray’s churchyard and Milton’s Cottage.  No doubt these fall back into my childhood days but others still beckon.

 

 

Author: poetryparc2

Here goes: I read poets and around poetry and any other book I take a fancy to. I seem to have a preference for seeing the changes from the Victorian period through to the 1930's, maybe 50's. But, and a big but, I also read anything right up to current poetry/performance poetry. Sometimes my ‘historic’ preference for 'imagist' and ‘Nature' unnerves me for too much too modern. However, I do like to range over poetry and fiction, any and all periods. I also like finding (if only for me) regional or partly forgotten poems and poets. Maybe all this is too eclectic to have a themed 'Blog' but so be it....... I also write fiction that might add up to a small mole-hill one day. Plus reviewing new or old books that are relevant to my enthusiasms of Crime Fiction, the Arts, Natural History and Special Education. This is on 'wordparc'. I try to record honestly what I think but if something is too bad (to my mind, others may love it!!) then I will not 'blog'. I buy or borrow to read and review. If there is a click-through it is meant to be useful though ‘wordery’ might give me a small % at no cost to you. There, what's that if not seemingly random!

Leave a Reply

