Three poems by William Blake

Laughing Song

When the greenwoods laugh with the voice of joy,

And the dimpling stream runs laughing by;

When the air does laugh with our merry wit,

And the green hill laughs with the noise of it;

When the meadows laugh with lively green,

And the grasshopper laughs in the merry scene;

When Mary and Susan and Emily

With their sweet round mouths sing ‘Haha he!’

When the painted birds laugh in the shade,

Where our table with cherries and nuts is spread;

Come live, and be merry, and join with me,

To sing the sweet chorus of ‘Ha ha he!’

The Fly

                       Little Fly,

    Thy summer’s play

My thoughtless hand

       Has brushed away.

       Am not I

A fly like thee?

Or art not thou

A man like me?

                   For I dance,

    And drink, and sing,

   Till some blind hand

    Shall brush my wing.

              If thought is life

And strength and breath,

                    And the want

        Of thought is death;

                         Then am I

                          A happy fly.

                                 If I live,

                             Or if I die.

The Clod and the Pebble

‘Love seeketh not itself to please,

Nor for itself hath any care,

But for another gives its ease,

And builds a heaven in hell’s despair’

So sung a little clod of clay,

Trodden with the cattle’s feet,

But a pebble of the brook

Warbled out these metres meet;

‘Love seeketh only Self to please,

To bind another to its delight,

Joys in another’s loss of ease,

And builds a hell in heaven’s despite.’

from  ‘Songs of Innocence and Experience’      Project Gutenberg

About poetryparc2

Here goes: I write a bit of poetry, sometimes about poetry I find and ditto any sort of books I take a fancy to. I seem to have a preference for seeing the changes from the late Victorian period through to the 1930's, maybe 50's. But, and a big but, could carry that right up to current poetry/performance poetry. Though sometimes my grounding for 'imagist and Nature' might unnerve me for too much too modern. However, I do like to range widely over all 'historical' poetry, and fiction, any and all periods. I also like finding (if only for me) regional or partly forgotten poems and poets. Maybe all this is too eclectic to have a themed 'Blog' but so be it....... I also enjoy writing bits of fiction that might add up to a small mole-hill one day. Plus reviewing of new or old books that are relevant to my enthusiasms of Crime fiction, the Arts, Natural History and Special Education. This is on 'wordparc'. I try to record honestly what I think but if something is too bad (to my mind, others may love it!!) then I will not 'blog' it There, what's that if not seemingly random!
This entry was posted in Poetry, Pre-1914 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

