Costa Book Award 2013: Winner is Nathan Filer

Nathan Filer has won the 2013 Costa Book Award.

Nathan’s novel:  The Shock of the Fall     was perhaps the surprise winner against the much fancied novel by Kate Atkinson.

Novelist Rose Tremain, chairing the judges, said: ‘For a first novel it is astonishingly sure-footed…….I think there is genuine excitement about this winner.’

The prize of £30.000 goes to Nathan for his novel which is an account of grief and the development of schizophrenia after a young man of 19 witnesses his brother’s death.

More details in the Guardian

Poet Michael Symmons Roberts failed to win but it looks like a major new fiction talent is emerging on reading the judges’ plaudits for Nathan Filer.

Author: poetryparc2

Here goes: I read poets and around poetry and any other book I take a fancy to. I seem to have a preference for seeing the changes from the Victorian period through to the 1930's, maybe 50's. But, and a big but, I also read anything right up to current poetry/performance poetry. Sometimes my ‘historic’ preference for 'imagist' and ‘Nature' unnerves me for too much too modern. However, I do like to range over poetry and fiction, any and all periods. I also like finding (if only for me) regional or partly forgotten poems and poets. Maybe all this is too eclectic to have a themed 'Blog' but so be it....... I also write fiction that might add up to a small mole-hill one day. Plus reviewing new or old books that are relevant to my enthusiasms of Crime Fiction, the Arts, Natural History and Special Education. This is on 'wordparc'. I try to record honestly what I think but if something is too bad (to my mind, others may love it!!) then I will not 'blog'. I buy or borrow to read and review. If there is a click-through it is meant to be useful though ‘wordery’ might give me a small % at no cost to you. There, what's that if not seemingly random!

Leave a Reply

