Sinead Morrissey wins TS Eliot 2013 Poetry Prize

With her fourth time on the T S Eliot Poetry Prize shortlist  (2002, 2005, 2009 and 2013)  Sinead Morrissey wins for 2013 with her collection: ‘Parallax’.

Congratulations from Poetryparc.    She wins the prize of £15,000.

‘Parallax’  was also shortlisted for the 2013 Forward Prize but beaten to the finish by Michael Symmons Roberts’s  ‘Drysalter’, as previously mentioned in Poetryparc.

The TS Eliot Poetry Prize was first presented in 1993.  It is organized by the Poetry Book Society and supported by the TS Eliot estate and the investment company Aurum.

The shortlist for 2013 was:

Dannie Abse……..Speak, Old Parrot

Moniza Alvi………At The Time of Partition

Anne Carson……..Red Doc

Sinead Morrissey……Parallax

Helen Mort………Division Street

Daljit Nagra………Ramayana: A Retelling

Maurice Riordan………The Water Stealer

Robin Robertson……..Hill of Doors

Michael Symmons Roberts……. Drysalter

George Szirtes…….Bad Machine

And a note for the Dylan Thomas fans:           2014 is the centenary of the birth of Dylan Thomas       Many plans are afoot  throughout South Wales both to celebrate the man and his writings and to welcome the large number of visitors expected from around the world.

I have to say that I have great fondness for ‘Undermilkwood’  but have to pick and choose from his poetry as too much at a time is too much!  But great to read in small selections, which I suppose goes for most things, let alone poets and writers.

About poetryparc2

Here goes: I write a bit of poetry, sometimes about poetry I find and ditto any sort of books I take a fancy to. I seem to have a preference for seeing the changes from the late Victorian period through to the 1930's, maybe 50's. But, and a big but, could carry that right up to current poetry/performance poetry. Though sometimes my grounding for 'imagist and Nature' might unnerve me for too much too modern. However, I do like to range widely over all 'historical' poetry, and fiction, any and all periods. I also like finding (if only for me) regional or partly forgotten poems and poets. Maybe all this is too eclectic to have a themed 'Blog' but so be it....... I also enjoy writing bits of fiction that might add up to a small mole-hill one day. Plus reviewing of new or old books that are relevant to my enthusiasms of Crime fiction, the Arts, Natural History and Special Education. This is on 'wordparc'. I try to record honestly what I think but if something is too bad (to my mind, others may love it!!) then I will not 'blog' it There, what's that if not seemingly random!
This entry was posted in Various and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

